New York, including the five boroughs, is known for diversity, shopping and good food. Unfortunately, this region is also known for its aggressive driver point system.
Even seemingly minor traffic violations could lead to the accrual of points against your driving license. For example, driving just a few miles over the posted speed limit will add three points to your license.
The more you speed, the more points will accrue!
As stated above, if you get caught driving up to ten miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit, it will add three points to your license. The faster you drive, the more points you accrue.
- 11 to 20 mph over the limit adds four points
- 21 to 30 mph over the limit adds six points
- 31 to 40 mph over the limit adds eight points
- More than 40 mph over the limit adds 11 points
As you can see, New York lawmakers take a harsh stance against speeding. However, other traffic violations also add points to your license. Examples include:
- Reckless driving adds five points
- Not stopping for a school bus adds five points
- Improper cell phone use and texting adds five points
- Disobeying traffic signals adds three points
- Child restraint violations add three points
If you accumulate only six points on your license, you must pay a mandatory driver responsibility assessment fee. Should you accrue 11 points within an 18-month window, you will probably have your driver’s license suspended.
In light of the complicated driver point system in New York, it serves your best interests to learn more about traffic violations and their associated penalties. Such awareness can help you abide by traffic laws and preserve your right to operate a motor vehicle.